RBI Repo Hike Oct 2026: Plot & Home Loan EMI

Blog Verified Guidance

Repo rate back to 5.50%: what October's RBI hike means for plot and home-loan EMIs

The RBI raised the repo rate by 25 bp to 5.50% on 7 October 2026. This explainer covers how repo-linked loans reset, a round-number EMI illustration, how plot, home and composite loans differ, and what to ask your bank. Mechanics, not advice.

Repo rate back to 5.50%: what October's RBI hike means for plot and home-loan EMIs

The short answer. On 7 October 2026 the RBI raised the repo rate by 25 basis points, from 5.25% to 5.50%. Banks whose loans are tied to the repo rate began raising their lending rates from 8 October, and your EMI changes when your own loan’s reset date arrives. This post explains how that chain works and what to ask your lender. It does not tell you whether to borrow, buy or wait.

What the RBI decided on 7 October 2026

As of October 2026, the facts reported on the decision are these:

Before this, the repo rate had been cut to 5.25% in early December 2025, as Kashmir Reader reported, and it stayed there through the February, April, June and August 2026 meetings.

Two scheduled dates matter for context. The MPC minutes were due on 21 October 2026, and the next MPC meeting is scheduled for 2-4 December 2026. Read the minutes on the RBI website if you want the committee’s own reasoning. This post makes no prediction about what happens next.

How a repo hike reaches your loan

The repo rate is what the RBI charges banks for short-term borrowing. You do not pay it. Your loan rate sits on top of a chain:

  1. Repo rate moves (5.25% to 5.50%).
  2. The bank’s repo-linked lending rate moves with it. Banks call it RLLR or RBLR, depending on the bank.
  3. Your loan rate is that benchmark plus a spread fixed in your sanction letter.
  4. Your EMI or tenure adjusts at your loan’s next reset date.

Step 2 happened quickly for some lenders. Business Today reported these revisions from 8 October 2026:

BankRepo-linked rate beforeAfter
Punjab National Bank (RLLR)8.10%8.35%
Bank of Baroda (RBLR)7.90%8.15%
Indian Bank7.95%8.20%
Bank of Indianot reported8.35%
Indian Overseas Banknot reported8.35%

That coverage did not report revisions by SBI, HDFC Bank or ICICI Bank, so do not assume the same table applies to your lender. The benchmark is not your loan rate: the spread added on top depends on your profile and the product.

Step 4 is where borrowers differ most. A loan linked to a repo-based benchmark reprices at the next reset date. A fixed-rate loan does not reprice mid-term. Your loan agreement states which type you hold and how often it resets, so check it rather than guess.

A worked illustration with round numbers

The numbers below are an illustration only. The 8.50% and 8.75% rates are assumed round figures chosen to show a 25 bp step. They are not a quote from any bank, and they are not a forecast.

Assume a 20-year loan with the rate moving from 8.50% to 8.75% and the tenure held constant.

Loan amountEMI at 8.50%EMI at 8.75%Monthly difference
₹30 lakhabout ₹26,035about ₹26,511about ₹477
₹50 lakhabout ₹43,391about ₹44,186about ₹794

Free Press Journal’s EMI explainer put the rise on a ₹50 lakh, 20-year loan at roughly ₹767-795 a month if the full 25 bp is passed through. That is the same order of magnitude as the worked figure above.

Three things this table does not capture:

Plot loan, home loan, composite loan: what differs

The repo move is the same for all three. What differs is how each product is structured. In general terms, as covered in our guide to bank loan eligibility for HMDA plots:

The practical point is that a headline “home loan rate” in a news story is not necessarily the rate you will be offered for a plot. Ask for the rate and reset terms for your specific product.

What this does NOT mean

This is the part to read twice.

What to ask your bank

Before you sign or when your reset comes up, ask in writing:

  1. Is my loan fixed or linked to a repo-based benchmark, and which one?
  2. What spread did you sanction, and can it change?
  3. When is my next reset date, and how often does it reset?
  4. When the rate rises, do you raise my EMI or extend my tenure, and can I choose?
  5. For a plot or composite loan: what LTV applies, and when does interest start on each tranche?
  6. What are the processing fees and prepayment terms?
  7. Is the valuation for sanction based on the sale price or the bank’s own technical valuation?

If you are still comparing lenders, our first-time plot buyer plan lays out a 30-day sequence, and the cost of stamp duty and registration is worth adding to your total budget alongside the loan.

What to ask your lawyer (or advocate)

A lender will check documents before it sanctions a plot loan. Whatever the interest rate, the legal checks are the same. Ask your advocate to confirm:

Our guide to verifying plot documents before you pay token money walks through the same checks in more detail.

WhatsApp us at +91 6309-555-444 (https://wa.me/916309555444) to book a site visit or request the document set for Eastern Meadows or Diamond Ring Residencia.

Frequently asked questions

What did the RBI do in October 2026?
As of October 2026, the RBI's Monetary Policy Committee raised the repo rate by 25 basis points, from 5.25% to 5.50%, on 7 October 2026. It was reported as the first hike since February 2023. The policy stance changed from neutral to "calibrated tightening". The next MPC meeting is scheduled for 2-4 December 2026.
Will my plot loan EMI go up automatically?
It depends on how your loan is priced. If it is linked to a repo-based benchmark, the rate changes when your loan's reset date arrives, as set out in your sanction letter. A fixed-rate loan does not change mid-term. Your bank can tell you which applies to you and when your next reset is.
How much does a 25 bp rise change an EMI?
On an illustrative ₹50 lakh loan over 20 years, moving from 8.50% to 8.75% raises the monthly instalment by roughly ₹800. That is a worked example with assumed rates, not any bank's actual quote. Media coverage of the hike gave a similar order of magnitude for a ₹50 lakh loan. Your own figure depends on your rate, balance and tenure.
Are plot loans priced the same as home loans?
Not necessarily. Plot or land-purchase loans usually carry different loan-to-value (LTV) and rate terms from home loans, and composite loans (plot plus construction) can be structured differently again. Check the terms for your specific product in writing from the lender.
Should I buy a plot now or wait for rates to change?
This article cannot answer that, and Young India Housing is not a licensed financial adviser. We explain how the mechanics work. Timing and affordability are decisions for you, ideally with a qualified adviser who knows your income, existing loans and goals.
Does the repo rate change affect a plot's legal verification?
No. The repo rate affects borrowing cost only. A plot's layout permit, title, encumbrance and registration status have to be checked on their own merits, whatever the interest rate environment.
1 / 1